Transport Canberra and City Services

40 km/h precincts in Group Centres

The ACT Government implemented 40 km/h speed precincts in 18 group centres in 2014.

Implementing safer speed limits is a proven road safety measure, as identified in the National Road Safety Strategy and the ACT Road Safety Strategy and Action Plan.

From Mid-December 2018, a slower speed of 40 km/h will be introduced at Casey Market Town. An assessment of traffic conditions around the shopping centre has been undertaken which identified Kingsland Parade meeting the required criteria for installing a 40 km/h precinct.

Group centres with 40 km/h precincts are also at: Amaroo, Calwell, Charnwood, Chisholm, Conder, Curtin, Dickson, Erindale, Hawker, Jamison, Kaleen, Kambah, Kingston, Kippax, Manuka, Mawson, Wanniassa and Weston.

The 40 km/h speed limits are in place on a fulltime basis (24 hours a day, seven days a week). They were introduced following community consultation on the proposed precinct boundaries.

Research indicates that the introduction of a 40 km/h speed area can significantly reduce the risk of death for vulnerable road users.

The ACT Government is committed to improving the accessibility of web content. To provide feedback or request an accessible version of a document please contact us or phone 13 22 81.

We acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the ACT, the Ngunnawal people. We acknowledge and respect their continuing culture and the contribution they make to the life of this city and this region.

Bookmark and Share

Feedback | Languages | Sitemap | Jobs ACT | Privacy | Disclaimer | Copyright Page last updated on 04 March 2019